Kettle Art Presents: Dark & Lovely II

Kettle Art proudly presents the long-anticipated return of artist Alicia Chapman, serving as curator of the all-female group exhibition “Dark & Lovely II”.

This gathering of artists is an imagined sequel to the original exhibition “Dark & Lovely” from our 2010 schedule, which was onview in our original gallery space on Elm St.

Artists include Alicia Chapman, Bree Smith, Chapis, Claudia Rivera, Eli Paek, Ferfetz, and RayTrill.

Artist Bios:

Alicia Chapman is a Dallas-based multidisciplinary contemporary artist. She fuses spontaneous mark makings inspired by calligraffiti with nature to create a distinctive style and visual language.
Alicia often depicts the beauty of women and nature in her work, two subjects which are often oppressed in solidarity with each other, bringing awareness to the need for social and environmental justice through the work.

Bree Smith is a multidisciplinary fine artist who primarily creates murals and 2D mixed media works. Her work is inspired by the cosmos and her imaginative visions of an intergalactic future for humanity. Using her style of retro-futuristic surrealism, she seeks to subvert the popular negative perspectives on humanity’s future. Through her use of polychromatic pastel and neon colors, she explores ideas about futuristic pop culture and the human experience in an intergalactic context.
She has brought her futuristic work to mural festivals, and her work was featured as part of the Deep Ellum Streetlight Banner program. Her work has been collected throughout the United States, and she has been interviewed and featured by several publications, including Create! Magazine, PIKCHUR Magazine, Dallas Style & Design Magazine, and ArtFolio Annual.

Chapis is a self-taught artist who has been creating art since she was a kid. She enjoys utilizing multiple mediums such as acrylic paint, spray paint, pens, collages, and oil pastels. She is a first generation Guatemalan American raised in Texas. Her artistic focus is on creating faces, which she has been drawing for years.

Claudia Rivera: I came to the US with my mom when I was ten, and was a very lonely child. I had to learn how to do things for myself and by myself. Art was one of those things. I created many self portraits. At the time, I thought it was because I was the only person I had to draw, but now as an adult, I realize that I was working on self-acceptance. I’ve always enjoyed drawing what I see, especially portraits. Now as an adult and a parent, I find myself creating different kinds of portraits. While working on my masters degree, I took a visual class in which we discussed waste and consumerism. I created artwork about my own personal waste and about all the toys in our house. I made little piles of toys and drew them, from cars, to blocks, to random baby toys. I love the way that groupings of these items tell a story about the owner and how much we consume. I also love that each artwork holds memories of a stage in someone’s life. I want to continue exploring this theme and the stories that unfold. My specialty is colored pencils. All of the pieces in this series are colored pencil on wood. I currently teach art at the elementary school level.

Eli Paek: I’m a professional fine art and mural artist proficient in oils, acrylics and watercolor. I also work in Procreate digitally. My clients include the cities of Fort Worth and Richardson, Urbanology Designs, Grubbs Motorsports, and dozens of private customers.
Art is a compulsion for me – my therapy, my journal, my escape. I especially enjoy painting animals because they are completely honest. Unlike most human subjects, animals do not hide their inner emotions.
I am most at peace in the natural areas here in Texas, which also inspires most of my art.

Ferfetz is a Brazilian immigrant artist, with strong reference from manga (Japanese drawing), expressing her daily conflicts and emotions through varied techniques including graffiti, watercolor, and acrylic painting.

RayTrill Harvey is a multidisciplinary artist who specializes in the art of spray paint. RayTrill began experimenting with a range of mediums, including acrylic, marker, and 3D elements during the pandemic. However, it was not until she discovered her love for spray painting that she truly found her calling.
RayTrill’s art is a fusion of various styles, including street art, graffiti, and fine art. She uses spray paint to create intricate and colorful pieces that showcase her talent and creativity. RayTrill’s art reflects her unique perspective on life and the world around her, and she strives to inspire and engage her audience through her work.
Aside from being a spray paint artist, RayTrill is also a skilled muralist and event organizer. She has worked on various projects, including commissioned murals, commercial art, and community art.