Number 8.

That is where we find ourselves.

On the downward path.

You see, fifteen artists are represented in the Kettle Art show, “New Blood. Old Money.” Tonight we bring you the eightth interview. I don’t know if we will get to do a virtual sit-down with all fifteen, but tonight mark’s a milestone nonetheless.

It’s appropriate that we are interviewing Robb Conover at number eight. (Okay, I’m not sure it’s “appropriate”, but he is a darn good artist that just so happens to have several pieces at Kettle for this show, and just so happened to be the eightth person interviewed in this series!)

As an artist, Robb is amazing. Not just because his work is so good (And it is, trust me.), but because his artistic range is so wide & varied. He can whip out pop pieces & abstract pieces on a whim (okay, maybe not a whim. but pretty darn quick.), or he can sit down for a while and create detailed photo-realistic pieces. It all depends on how he is feeling on a particular day, or where he wants his artwork to develop the most.

Hopefully, this interview will give you insight into who Robb is & why he is such a blessing to the Dallas art scene.

Enjoy … 

 

Kettle – Tell us a bit about yourself (give a brief bio).

Robb – I grew up with a strong art influence. My father, grandfather and my father’s brothers were all artists. I knew at an early age this was a part of me.

I have had the pleasure of working with some strong talent in my life . Keith Harring, Roy Lichtenstein and a few others. I was part of the club Kid Movement in New York, so that influenced my contacts, my life style and my art.

I attended Pratt in NY and worked as a staff artist and DJ at the Mudd Club in NY.

I create my pop art with a whimsical attitude & a retro feel. My medium and style ranges from POP to Photo Realism and Abstract.

Robb Conover

 

Kettle – The name of this show is titled, “New Blood, Old Money”. Which are you, “New Blood” or “Old Money”?

Robb – I Guess since I’ve been around Kettle for while that makes me “Old Blood”, one of the older artists but with money, … LOL, not likely! 

Kettle – How long have you been associated with Kettle Art? What past shows have you shown your work? Which one was the most memorable so far? What intrigues you about this particular show?

Robb – I had a solo show last year at Kettle called “Stilettos and Candy”, which bordered on each of our darkest secrets. It was a journey done in a fun way. I have also really enjoyed the “For The LOVE OF KETTLE ” shows because of all the new artists shown, and because it’s a great chance to buy new art at a great price. The energy level at those shows is amazing.

This time, I couldn’t pass up the chance to do a show with one of my best friends and one of the best artists at Kettle when I was presented with the opportunity of showing at “New Blood. Old Money.”

Robb Conover

 

Kettle – How many pieces do you have on exhibit for “New Blood. Old Money.”? Can you tell us a little about each one? 

Robb – I took a new direction with this show, I wanted to show a style and technique that I have never shown before or at least one that you haven’t seen from me.  

Two of the pieces are an experiment in what happens with chemicals when applied to the surface with paint. I then applied ink to the paint to bring out certain areas. It’s an experiment that I will expand upon in the very near future.  

Another piece is an assemblage pieces using scrap items from the studio; printer cartridges, floppy disc, empty syringes, dried up markers and pull tabs from cans, It ended up being an industrial looking piece.

The last piece was an experimental piece using recycled products and painting detail on the surface. It was sort of a floral piece with dragonflies.

I wanted to show a strong use of lines and color since I’m known for using bright colors of paint in my work.

Kettle – Where did you find the inspiration for these pieces? 

Robb – From all of the people that have influenced me in the past. I had a teacher early in my career that said “Never use paint straight from the Tube.” I saw her later in life and she asked me what I was doing in art. I replied, “I’m using paint straight from the tube!”

 Robb Conover

 

Kettle – Were you able to attend opening night for “New Blood. Old Money.”? What was your favorite part of the night? What pieces really stood out to you?

Robb – I thought the energy level was one of the best I’ve seen at a show at Kettle. Clint Scism did an incredible job mixing the old with the new.

Kettle – Will you be showing with Kettle again?

Robb – I’m just waiting for the invites from other upcoming curators!

I’m also curating a show in November. It will feature Clint Scism, Corey Godfrey, Erica Fellacella, Frank Campagana, Tony Reans and myself. The theme and subject will be announced soon. We intend to create an event at Kettle that has never been done before, not in Dallas nor at Kettle. Secrets and rumors are already flying about the show!

Kettle – Do you have any other shows coming up where one could see your work? 

Robb – I have work at Artisians Collective in Oakcliff ; a very strong body of work there. I also have a possible solo show upcoming at the Belmont and other project with RO2 and other galleries.

Robb Conover

 

Kettle – What is in the future for you and your art? Do you see yourself or your art developing in any particular way in the near future?

Robb – I figure I’m always a work-in-progress no matter what you see me doing. Don’t think where I’m at is as far as I’m going. I’m always looking for new ways to journey through my artwork and where it will lead me.

Kettle – Where else can one find your work? (online or otherwise)

Robbhttp://www.robbconover.zoomshare.com/ (sadly, it’s not updated)

My Works can be physically seen at: 

Artisians Collective in Oakcliff

Kettle Art

The Meridian Room

The Fallout Lounge

Mine and Vine Gallery In Keller Texas 

Buli’s cafe in Oaklawn

The Drama Room in Oaklawn, the largest body of POP ART of mine in Dallas (including a huge mural)

A mural at Publicist at the Shops at Legacy in Plano, TX.

“New Blood. Old Money.” is still up & we still aren’t sure when it’s coming down. It will be up at least another weekend or so, so get down to Deep Ellum and see it while you still can. 
