Round Two for Labor Day!

Here for your reading/viewing pleasure is an interview with “New Blood. Old Money.” artist, Cheryl Baker.

Enjoy …

Cheryl Baker

Cheryl Baker

www.gr8karma.com

Kettle – Tell us a bit about yourself (give a brief bio).

Cheryl – I’ve been drawing and painting since I was a kid. I’m curious about different techniques and materials so my work varies. I fall in love with each piece I do. Usually I start with an idea that I want to express but sometimes I get an image in my head that begs to be shared. I work toward being true to the idea or the image.

Cheryl Baker - Blue Chair

Blue Chair

Kettle – The name of this show is titled, “New Blood, Old Money”. Which are you, “New Blood” or “Old Money”?

Cheryl – “Old Money”

Kettle – So, how long have you been associated with Kettle Art? What past shows have you shown your work? Which one was the most memorable so far? What intrigues you about this particular show?

Cheryl – I’ve been enjoying shows at Kettle, as an art appreciator, for three or four years but it’s been over two since I first started taking part in group shows there. I loved the “Birds vs Skulls” show in 2009. The variety of work on the walls was impressive – I still remember some of those pieces. “Love of Kettle” shows (annually, in February) are always great. Nowhere else have I seen so many great works for so little money. The proceeds go toward gallery operations, so it’s a win for everybody. In June, I curated “Forces of Nature” which was a great experience for me. The artists and the gallery were a pleasure to work with!

“New Blood, Old Money” has brought my attention to artists whose work I haven’t seen before and reaffirmed my love for work by artists I’m already familiar with. Kettle sets a great example for the Dallas art scene in being open to new work.

Cheryl Baker - Almost You

Almost You

Kettle – How many pieces do you have on exhibit for “New Blood. Old Money.”? Can you tell us a little about each one?

Cheryl – I have four small pieces in this show. For “Blue Chair”, I experimented with painting onto acetate. The main image, inspired by an Elvis Costello song, is drawn in pencil and the background is painted in acrylic. “Almost You”, another Elvis inspired song, is about lost love, or really, love that failed it’s potential. “The Monk” is an image emerging from the darkness, something coming to light. The heavy cowl represents a need for protection against vulnerability. “1-15-91” was done in remembrance of my nephew’s Gulf War experience.

Cheryl Baker - The Monk

The Monk

Kettle – What is in the future for you and your art? Do you see yourself or your art developing in any particular way in the near future?

Cheryl – I have a few ideas for some work involving the conscious/subconscious. More mixed media work.

Cheryl Baker - "1-15-91"

"1-15-91"

Kettle – Where else can one find your work? (online or otherwise)

Cheryl – Some of my work can be viewed at gr8karma.com

“New Blood. Old Money.” is still up & we still aren’t sure when it’s coming down. It will be up at least another weekend or so, so get down to Deep Ellum and see it while you still can.

