We’ve got a lot of artists to interview for “New Blood. Old Money.” before we put together a closing reception and decide it is time to put this show to bed. That is why over the next few days you will see interviews posted in rapid-fire succession.

So, without further delay, Kettle Art brings you another virtual sit-down with “New Blood. Old Money.” artist Arthur (“Artman”) James.

Enjoy …

Arthur ("Artman") James

 Arthur (“Artman”) James

Kettle –  Tell us a bit about yourself (give a brief bio).

 Artman – Born/raised in Dallas – which makes me a bit odd.  Went to University of North Texas for Design Communication Degree.  Professional commercial artist for the last 15 years in the advertising biz. I was obsessed with comic books as a kid – I read them, made them.  It makes since that I do this for a living.  

Kettle –  The name of this show is titled, “New Blood, Old Money”. Which are you, “New Blood” or “Old Money”? 

Artman – Im old broke-ass money;), but “New Blood” to showing at Kettle.

Kettle – What intrigues or excites you about exhibiting at Kettle Art?

Artman – Kettle is the scene. Who wouldn’t want to show there?

Arthur ("Artman") James

 

Kettle – how long have you been associated with Kettle Art? What past shows have you shown your work? Which one was the most memorable so far? What intrigues you about this particular show?

Artman – I have only participated in the “For the Love of Kettle show last year, but I’ve been associated with Frank Campangna since ’98, lived in Deep Ellum for 5 yrs.  To live in Deep Ellum was to know Frank, and to know Frank is to know Kettle.  I’m proud to have known the Kettle before the Art.  Art & Soul, Mythology of the Blues was my biggest one man, at theBoydGallery in Deep Ellum.  What intrigues me about Kettle show is the varied styles of the awesome artists.  I’d call it a “prism-show”.  All the colors of the rainbow are represented in this show.   

Kettle – How many pieces do you have on exhibit for “New Blood. Old Money.”? Can you tell us a little about each one?

Artman – I have 4 pcs. 1) “Blues Harp study IV” – ink study.  2) “Bens Chili Bowl” – mythology play on this famous chili parlor inWashingtonDC(I ate a brilliant chili dog there)and Big Foot…why not?  They’re both delicious.  3) “Attitudenial Robot”  – using robot as human metaphor.  My favorite part of this is the paper(old found newsprint sketchbook I found from my days at UNT ala ’93, AND the red nose.  My thought is how stupid we American humans can behave – all attitude and a pea for a brain. 4)  “Buzz Lounge”  this is an old portfolio box that I used to ship my artwork to advertising agencies.  The irony here, is that I made this cover as “non-commercial” as possible:)  

Arthur ("Artman") James

 

Kettle – Where did you find the inspiration for these pieces? 

Artman – Inspiration is a mysterious creature.  Specific to the pieces in this show:  An old memory, a terrific chili dog, watching the evening news, and thumbing a buzz saw at the advertising industry –  which I strangely love and do well at, and in turn is the bane of my existence.

Kettle – Were you able to attend opening night for “New Blood. Old MOney.”? What was your favorite part of the night? What pieces really stood out to you? 

Artman – Yes I attended along with my wife and rep Holly.  Meeting Tony Reans and looking at his amazing Flash Gordon pieces, were a highlight, Clint’s work is astounding and really dug Kelsey’s stuff. Everybody’s work is killer.  Also, seeing a collegue Ray-Mel Corneilious – a brilliant artist, old friend, and a salt of the earth soul. 

Arthur ("Artman") James

 

Kettle – Will you be showing with Kettle again?   

Artman –  I would love too.  In another group show or one-man, if they’d have me.

Kettle – Do you have any other shows coming up where one could see your work? 

Artman – In development, nothing nailed due to a long term project I currently working on.  I’m showing at the Meridian Room currently, and I have a bunch of my work on Facebook (Arthur James aka ARTMAN. I have this Idea (dream really), of doing a show out of an old Airstream trailer.  Kind of like a “food truck” but with Art.  I’d drive the SHOW around for a month.   

Arthur ("Artman") James

 

Kettle – What is in the future for you and your art? Do you see yourself or your art developing in any particular way in the near future? 

Artman – Mobile Art Truck.  Ive always wanted to do an art-car, sculpture show. 

Kettle – Where else can one find your work? (online or otherwise)

Artman – My Ninja rep Holly Oney’s website www.KingeswifeProductions.com, www.Foundfolios.com, Flickr, www.Workbook.com, Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arthur-James-aka-Artman/139395560368) and in my mind yet to be discovered and uncovered.

“New Blood. Old Money.” is still up & we still aren’t sure when it’s coming down. It will be up at least another weekend or so, so get down to Deep Ellum and see it while you still can. 
