The Fractal Logic mural show has been up for a while now & I hope that you have been down to Kettle to see this amazing show. George Fowler did an incredible job curating. He really knocked it out of the park.

If you haven’t been down to see the show yet. You best get down there! It won’t be up much longer.

It is also fitting to have Richard Ross bless us with our first (& possibly only) artist spotlight from this show.

Enjoy …

Richard Ross

 
Kettle – Please tell us a little about yourself (give a brief bio).
 
Richard – I usually make stuff up for this kind of question, because I’m just a simple person, and the truth would be boring.
 
 
Kettle – When did you first discover your creative side & how long have you been pursuing the creative life?
 
Richard – As long as I can remember, I’ve felt the desire to create rather than destroy. This has led me down several paths in my life.
  
Kettle – Do you have formal training, or are you self taught?
 
Richard – Both.  I was never a good student when I did take classes. I nearly failed art in highschool, twice.  My last college art instructors gave me a studio to go and work in by myself. They said they couldn’t teach me anything, but it was also when I had my biggest breakthroughs. I also learn a little from everyday and everything, so I can’t say I’m my own teacher. I’m just a constant student of my own life.
 
 
Kettle – Could you please describe your latest body of work?

Richard – It’s a look at conflict and how conflict seems needed to make progressions in our humankind struggles.

Kettle – Why did you settle on this particular medium & style?

Richard – I like to keep things simple.

Kettle – Where did you find the inspiration for your most recent work?

Richard – From a quote by TE Lawrence in “Seven Pillars of Wisdom”

“All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity, but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dream with open eyes, to make it possible”

I found the quote while researching the political scientist/philosopher Gene Sharp and his works.

Kettle – “Fractal Logic” is a bit different than what most people experience with a traditional group show being that each piece was part of a larger whole. How did that affect the way you approached your work? Did you find it to be more challenging, or did you find that it gave you more creative license?

Richard – It was easier in that it was a single concept, but more difficult in that it took over 100 pieces to convey that concept.

Kettle – What most intrigues you about your latest show at Kettle Art? Why?

Richard – I am impressed by the work of the artists in the show. I knew I was fortunate to be included in the show, and I am impressed by the commitment and work each artist brought into their pieces.

Kettle – Have you shown at Kettle Art in the past? When? What shows?

Richard – yes, and too many times to list.  Two solo shows there are some of my high lights with Kettle.

Kettle – What do you want viewers to take away from your work at this show?

Richard – I want them to take the work, so I don’t have to store it… No, actually I think I’d like people to see that there’s substance in simple things. That as primitive as my work may appear on the surface, there is deep running meanings underneath.

Kettle – What’s next for you creatively? Where can one see more of your work?

Richard – I’m still continuing my journey on the road to the store.

“Fractal Logic” wraps up this week at Kettle Art in Deep Ellum. Get down & see it soon. 

Next up is a large group show full of new faces & quite a few you already know and love. It is to be curated by Clint Scism. Please come by and check out the opening on August 18th. As always, you won’t be disappointed.

